RSS

The Letter

13 Aug

Last Sunday I had the rather delightful experience of being notified that my blog had a new comment. Now I don’t exactly have tonne of traffic, so for me every like and comment is especially appreciated. No, I’m not the new kid in school nervously kicking at the ground, praying to be picked for Dandy Shandy (known outside of Jamaica and to the rest of the world as dodge-ball). What I am saying is that when my friends – new and old- stop by and leave a comment or a like, I take it in, revel a bit and then try to do better the next time around.

Now, I’m a friendly sort of girl, so when I saw that someone took the time to comment, I went over to his page to say hya, and thanks ever so for liking my post. I wasn’t expecting a bad blog, or a good one, I just wanted to say thank you. And yet, very much like Gretel, starving in the woods, I came across the most provocatively posed, and deliciously worded blog I had found in quite sometime. Good lord, you just don’t know what kinds of scrumptious morsels he had waiting for me to devour. 

Said it before, I have a timid hand; the purpose of this blog: is to help me better my writing and catalog my own journey. What I discovered over at Opinionatedman’s HarshReality, was someone who was doing exactly that. His posts privilege us with insight into a beautiful, creative mind at work, as it articulates fear; anxiety; joy; hope and all the multitude of emotions that landscape the human experience. The Letter is but one example, so without further ado.

The Letter.

BM

 
34 Comments

Posted by on 13/08/2013 in UNCATEGORIZED

 

34 responses to “The Letter

  1. Opinionated Man

    13/08/2013 at 7:28 AM

    WoW thank you that is very kind.

     
  2. Opinionated Man

    13/08/2013 at 7:31 AM

    Reblogged this on HarsH ReaLiTy and commented:
    I always like it when anyone reblogs my work, but I particularly like it when they include why they did. Thanks for such a descriptive image of what you find interesting in my writing.

    -OM

     
  3. KraftedKhaos

    13/08/2013 at 7:53 AM

    Yeah, I agree, OM is pretty awesome. His was one of the first blogs I followed when I joined WordPress, and thanks to his blog I have had the privilege to not only view the thoughts of a truly honest and genuine person, but I’ve been introduced to quite a few wonderful people through comments on his posts.

    Welcome to the phenomena that is OM, lol!

     
    • battymatilda

      13/08/2013 at 8:15 AM

      Haha you’re right I have met some fantastic people here already and he is simply amazing. I just had to tell everybody I knew about his blog! I tend to be rather timid but OM inspires me to put it out there you know? Looking forward to exploring your blog as well. Feel free to stop by anytime.

       
      • KraftedKhaos

        13/08/2013 at 8:20 AM

        Well thanks! Mine’s nowhere near as stimulating as OM’s, I usually just patter on about whatever is percolating in my brain at that moment in time. I don’t really have a ‘theme’ or anything, unless randomness counts as a theme, LOL!

         
      • battymatilda

        13/08/2013 at 8:25 AM

        Of course randomness is a theme! I don’t have much of one either lol

         
      • KraftedKhaos

        13/08/2013 at 8:31 AM

        Well, I’d like to let you know before you visit that I might *appear* a little crazy, but I’m not… not really. Well, not in a dangerous sort of way. I tend to have my own special brand of ‘crazy’ that, while often off-kilter, is well-intended. 🙂

         
      • battymatilda

        13/08/2013 at 8:49 AM

        Lol you’re a trip! Thanks for the warning, now I’m armed and ready.

         
      • KraftedKhaos

        13/08/2013 at 8:52 AM

        😀 Don’t forget your hip-waders… things have a tendency to get pretty deep over there in my little piece of interwebz real estate; Either deeply profound, or deeply full of… well… you know. 😉 And as always, I welcome everyone to let me know which are which, LOL!

         
  4. Eli@coachdaddy

    13/08/2013 at 8:29 AM

    I don’t even really believe in karma, but what you’ve done will serve a purpose much like it, I predict. Any time I see a blogger support another, it’s better than one of those sensitive coffee TV commercials. Good on you.

     
    • battymatilda

      13/08/2013 at 8:34 AM

      Oh wow, thanks for that, you’re very kind. I appreciate you stopping by as well. I still don’t know what lead him to my blog, but I feel humbled by his writing the least I could do was share it.

       
  5. Bookworm

    13/08/2013 at 8:49 AM

    I adore your blog and have nominated you for some virtual blogging awards. Check out the page here: http://bookwormsbookmarked.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/i-have-been-nominated-so-claim-your-blogging-virtual-rewards/

     
  6. Meka

    13/08/2013 at 9:19 AM

    “… And yet, very much like Gretel, starving in the woods, I came across the most provocatively posed, and deliciously worded blog…what kinds of scrumptious morsels he had waiting for me to devour.” What a delicious morsel to devour!!! 😀

     
    • battymatilda

      13/08/2013 at 9:24 AM

      Thank you Meka *happy dance* somebody quoted me lol

       
  7. heila2013

    13/08/2013 at 9:35 AM

    Hi, I completely agree with you, Opinionatedman’s HarshReality is one of my favorite blogs. He makes your brain neurons interact stronger!!

     
    • battymatilda

      13/08/2013 at 9:37 AM

      Perfectly put – He makes your brain neurons interact stronger!!

       
      • heila2013

        13/08/2013 at 9:38 AM

        Thanks! 🙂

         
  8. Donna Cowden

    13/08/2013 at 9:38 AM

    Your post is beautiful and thoughtful! OM is quite an inspiration to more than he may realize.

     
  9. Nekoruchii

    13/08/2013 at 9:56 AM

    I agree with this post and yes, OM is really a very inspiring man! After I’ve joined WordPress, posted my first daily prompt and saw new followers, OM was the first one to get my attention, his bravery in posting such blogs that shows us the reality of this world, and its really the HarsH ReaLiTy of life, I felt like I was motivated and decided to push through on blogging like I’ll never care what would people say if they find it pleasing or not in their view.

     
    • battymatilda

      13/08/2013 at 9:59 AM

      Good for you, his honesty really is an inspiration and I’m certainly glad you decided to push through and continue blogging. I look forward to reading more from your blog.

       
      • Nekoruchii

        13/08/2013 at 10:01 AM

        Thank you very much and also thanks for the follow.

         
  10. The Vanilla Housewife

    13/08/2013 at 9:56 AM

    Love the OM 🙂

     
  11. pankajrawat

    13/08/2013 at 12:27 PM

    Wow, I just wish could write like you…with those expressions! Excellent…

     
    • battymatilda

      13/08/2013 at 12:33 PM

      You just did, my friend. Thank you 🙂

       
  12. Ms. Vee

    13/08/2013 at 3:55 PM

    Hi, yes OM blog is a mixture of everything. The good, and bad. He writes the raw truth. HarsH ReaLiTy is what it is!

     
    • battymatilda

      13/08/2013 at 4:30 PM

      That he surely does. Thank you for stopping by. Hope to see you again 🙂

       
      • Ms. Vee

        13/08/2013 at 5:08 PM

        You are welcome. I hope you visit mine too.

         
      • battymatilda

        13/08/2013 at 5:10 PM

        Am there right now lol

         
      • Ms. Vee

        13/08/2013 at 5:19 PM

        Thank you for the visit, and the likes. I will explore your blog soon.

         
  13. Carolyn

    13/08/2013 at 8:47 PM

    Wonderful!

     
  14. missmarzo

    14/08/2013 at 2:32 AM

    I understand specifically where you’re coming from. That’s how I discovered The Opinionated Man as well and boy was I glad that I did. I also understand what you mean about appreciating all the likes and comments you receive. I feel like I’m making a new friend every time someone stops by my blog. The support the bloggers share with each other is priceless.

     
    • battymatilda

      14/08/2013 at 7:04 AM

      Totally true, I was so terrified to hit that enter button. I have to say, I’ve encountered some extraordinary blogs, people and friends here. Thank you.

       
      • missmarzo

        14/08/2013 at 1:14 PM

        You’re very welcome, and thank youuuu

         

Leave a Reply

 
