RSS

On the street where you live

03 Jul

4234539604_8fd7afdaf2_z

Happy Wednesday my darlings. I woke up wishing I had someone on my street sing to me. Do, please enjoy this YouTube video of “On the street where you live.” It has both he original scene from My Fair Lady as performed by Freddie Eynsford-Hill himself, and the popular standard sung by Vic Damone. Lyrics by Alan Lerner, Frederick Loewe follow:

I have often walked down this street before; 
But the pavement always stayed beneath my feet before. 
All at once am I Several stories high. 
Knowing I’m on the street where you live. 
Are there lilac trees in the heart of town? 
Can you hear a lark in any other part of town? 
Does enchantment pour Out of ev’ry door? 
No, it’s just on the street where you live! 
And oh! The towering feeling 
Just to know somehow you are near. 
The overpowering feeling 
That any second you may suddenly appear! 
People stop and stare. They don’t bother me. 
For there’s no where else on earth that I would rather be. 
Let the time go by, I won’t care if I 
Can be here on the street where you live.

BM

 
10 Comments

Posted by on 03/07/2013 in UNCATEGORIZED

 

10 responses to “On the street where you live

  1. Professor VJ Duke

    13/08/2013 at 7:47 AM

    The professor loves this song! Nat King Cole and Mel Torme do great renditions!

     
    • battymatilda

      13/08/2013 at 7:53 AM

      Thanks for stopping by Professor. I’ve not heard Nat’s version, will search immediately. I am a huge fan of films from that era and My Fair Lady just happens to be my favourite film – I felt compelled to share lol

       
  2. ConfusedTeen

    13/08/2013 at 9:33 AM

    I love My Fair Lady, and this song sticks in my head like glue. If only someone would sing it to me!

     
    • battymatilda

      13/08/2013 at 9:39 AM

      I keep waiting for my Freddie Eynsford-Hill too! lol Thnks for stopping by

       
      • Professor VJ Duke

        13/08/2013 at 9:41 AM

        But aren’t you two supposed to like Higgins more than Freddie? (Personally, Freddie has always vexed the professor!)

         
      • battymatilda

        13/08/2013 at 9:49 AM

        The professor is my great love and I am unfaltering in my devotion, I promise. Indeed, “I’ve grown accustomed to her face” has got to be one of the best love songs ever. But every once in while, I get the girlish desire to have a fellow serenade me below the window or just from “the street where I live” Surely you wouldn’t begrudge me that 🙂

         
      • Professor VJ Duke

        13/08/2013 at 9:57 AM

        Professor VJ Duke is the professor; Higgins is just Higgins, you know. 😉

        Well, no, if you must have it then you must. But I must say, I definitely wouldn’t want to be serenaded by Freddie from my window!

         
      • battymatilda

        13/08/2013 at 10:02 AM

        lol Higgins is just Higgins, who else could call a girl a millstone round his neck and a tower of strength in the same breath. Somehow you can’t help but love him.

         
      • Professor VJ Duke

        13/08/2013 at 10:05 AM

        Very true. I always liked the colonel too.

         

Leave a Reply

 
