RSS

One Love: Jamaican Blogger Tag

30 Jan

Image

http://www.photos4travel.com/travel-guides/jamaica/pictures/kingston 

I haven’t blogged in almost 6 months, and so I have to thank the delightful @KimiSmall, of TheSmallGirl for having tagged me. She made it that much easier for me to dust the cobwebs from my blog and type something. Thank you my dear, and so, off to the races we go!

THE RULES FOR THIS TAG:

        1. Title your post “One Love: Jamaican Blogger Tag”
        2. Link back to the blogger who tagged you ( you may add a brief definition of what a tag is if you for the benefit of your readers)
        3. Copy and paste the rules at the beginning of your tag.
        4. Copy and paste the questions as well so readers know what’s going on.
        5. Answer the questions (No duh!)
        6. Tag seven other (untagged) Jamaican bloggers to continue the trend. Kinda forces you to make friends, no?

The questions are as follows:

 1.Why did you give your blog its name? (If it is named directly after you, try and make your answer interesting. e.g: Did you feel nervous at all about putting your name out there? Did you just lack creativity at the time?)
My blog and twitter handles are one in the same – BattyMatilda: welcome to my space; I live in the cavernous expanse that lies somewhere between, Day Dream Valley and Topsy Turvy Hill. How I happened upon this place was really quite accidental, I simply nodded off while still in residence in my rabbit proof crib as a baby. The visits continued all through my infancy, and the only passport I really needed was a nod or a blank stare at the chalkboard. On one of my many trips there as a child, ironically – if you know me – in Mrs. Tallow’s fractions class where I learned no math, I imagined what it would be like to own and to live above my very own bookshop.
   I would spend days thinking about how I would decorate it?. Would I sell tea and scones? Would I have entire aisles dedicated to Enid Blyton, Nancy Drew? Who would I be reading by the time I was old enough to own my own shop? And what would I name it? For you see unlike Shakespeare, I thought the name was very important indeed. The only thing that stuck was Batty Matilda’s. When you spend hours of your life devouring books about gollywogs and fairies, you’re bound to come across an old neighbor or cooky little granny, whose wizened face held a map of the world and breathed new life into stories of old.  I was utterly tickled by the word batty, not just because, here in Jamaica it is commonly associated with the bum, but also because it’s literal meaning is: crazy or slightly befuddled.
   Batty Matilda, I thought, described me, or the Matilda I wanted to be as an adult, fairly accurately. Plus, if you read Roald Dahl as a child, then you know Matilda was one rad chick. Twenty some odd years later, I still don’t own a bookshop, but I have my own little space on the interweb, and that’s what I choose to call it.
2. Why did you start blogging and why do you blog now?
I started blogging because one of my favourite people @scaquared kept telling me I should. Eventually she wore me down. I love words, but a writer I am not, and so, I was worried. Why would what I write need to be shared with anyone? For that matter, why would anyone care to read it? Anyway, she wore me down, and though I am not a consistent writer, I am happy I did it.
3. Do you think being Jamaican influences your blogging style?
 Not particularly, although it would be a falsehood to suggest the prism through which I see the world and my small part of it, isn’t somewhat coloured by where I come from. So, perhaps the answer lies somewhere in the middle. I write for me, and hope to find a human connection with those who read my blog. But my own humanity is wrought and forged through the dark green of red ginger leaves, tropical sun and azure waters.
4. What do you think about the increase in bloggers in Jamaica?
It’s a good thing. I was reminded yesterday by, a beautiful new friend and fellow blogger, @DMarcAnthony of the danger of the single story or narrative. [Check his blog here CogitoErgoSum] I like the throng of voices. There is comfort in knowing that somewhere someone else, sees, feels, hears, the same things I do.
5. What is your favourite thing about being Jamaican?
That’s a hard question, like being asked to describe what the colour purple would taste like. We are intrinsically nothing more than the same, and nothing less than completely different. My people make me laugh, cry, shake my head, and or, shudder at least once a day. The people I meet are astounding and brilliant and silly and strange. I don’t think you can ask for more than that. Throw in a trip to Portland, Stony hill or a lazy day by the river and I have to ask how could you not love it here?
6. Ackee and saltfish or “ (mackerel) run down”?
Ackee and saltfish, I’m not a fan of salt mackerel in coconut milk.
7.Stew peas or stew chicken?
Stew Chicken, I can only eat Stew Peas if I mix it with thousand island dressing (long story, don’t ask)
8. Tastee Patties, Juici Beef Patties or Mother’s?
Frankly I think Sugar & Spice make the best patties, and yes I know they are owned by Tastee, but let me tell you there is a difference, and my pallet knows it. But, I suppose given the options above I’ll go with Tastee, under duress. 
9. Pantucky or KFC?
Pan chicken from, Carlos in Port Royal, the guys in Northside Plaza and of course Wally, is always good. But then again Jamaican KFC is actually much better than most places and I do love a zinger. Can’t choose, sorry.
10. What do you hope to be the future of blogging in Jamaica?
 I hope it continues to grow. We are a nation of many voices, to not have those stories told would be a shame.
TAGS (I won’t list people’s names if not already on their blogs.That’s not my story to tell. If they wish you to know they’ll share themselves)
Damien of CogitoErgoSum
Jhenelle of Chronicles 
Emma of Petchary 
Marlon of TheJamaicanZ
La Bella Maffia of disturbedafterdark 
BM
 
5 Comments

Posted by on 30/01/2013 in UNCATEGORIZED

 

5 responses to “One Love: Jamaican Blogger Tag

  1. Damien Williams (@DMarcAnthony)

    30/01/2013 at 4:51 PM

    Hahahaha!!! I thoroughly enjoyed reading. This is precisely why you need to be writing… Gonna respond soon…

     
  2. petchary

    30/01/2013 at 5:26 PM

    What/where are the rules?

     
  3. thesmallgirl

    30/01/2013 at 5:49 PM

    I started smiling at the first sentence and it stayed with me to the end. You may not consider yourself a writer, but your voice is strong and impressive. Love love.

     
    • battymatilda

      30/01/2013 at 7:26 PM

      Thanks doll, I take that as a very high compliment coming from you.

       
  4. JamaicanZ

    01/02/2013 at 11:56 PM

    Challenge accepted!

     

Leave a Reply

 
